Special Education

The mission of the Brawley Union High School District is to provide a student-centered educational experience, focused on high academic expectations, in a safe and secure learning environment.

The role of the Special Education Department is to provide support services for students with disabilities to assist in reaching their full potential as members of their community. Special education services are provided only after all resources of the general education programs have been considered and utilized. Our program is dedicated in overseeing the social, emotional, behavioral, physical and academic needs of all students-affording access to be fully or at least partially immersed within general education programs along with preparation for post-secondary life.

Special Education

Administrative Staff:

Dr. Julie Fernandez, Psy. D.

Director of Special Education

 (760) 312-6077

jfernandez@brawleyhigh.org

Karen Bastidas

Administrative Assistant

 (760) 312-6090/4071

Fax Number: (760) 312-6074

 kbastidas@brawleyhigh.org

Ruby Cato

District School Psychologist

 (760) 312-4077

 rcato@brawleyhigh.org

Evelyn Perez

District School Psychologist

 (760) 312-4250

 eperez@brawleyhigh.org

Albert Raczka

District School Psychologist

(760) 312-4085

craczka@brawleyhigh.org

Nabil Noujiam

Speech Pathologist

 (760) 312-6066

 nnoujain@brawleyhigh.org

Special Education Teaching Staff

Brawley Union High School:

Pedro Carranza                 pcarranza@brawleyhigh.org

Renee Gray                      rgray@brawleyhigh.org

Beth Hopkins                     bhopkins@brawleyhigh.org

Gerardo Parra gparra@brawleyhigh.org

Cathy Ray                        cray@brawleyhigh.org

Angelica Rosales                anrosales@brawleyhigh.org

Leslie Van Der Linden      lvanderlinden@brawleyhigh.org

Desert Valley High School:

Wells, Giovanna                   gwells@brawleyhigh.org

Individualized Education Program (IEP)

The Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) is a law that makes available a free appropriate public education (FAPE) to eligible children with disabilities.

The Individualized Education Program (IEP) is a formalized, legal plan which identifies a student's educational needs along with goals for meeting those specific needs.

Students with disabilities, who need special education and related services, are found eligible when they meet the IDEA definition of a “child with a disability” in combination with state law and regulations. There are 13 different disability categories under which a student may be found eligible for special education and related services. These categories are listed below.

  • Autism

  • Deafness

  • Deaf-Blindness

  • Hearing Impairment

  • Intellectual Disabilities

  • Orthopedic Impairment

  • Multiple Disabilities

  • Other Health Impairment

  • Emotional Disturbance

  • Specific Learning Disability

  • Speech or Language Impairment

  • Traumatic Brain Injury

  • Visual Impairment, including blindness

Related Files

How to Access the Parent Portal

Related Links